pics of my flat bed for sledders

knee deep in it

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
My primary use of the truck is not for sledding but I have been contemplating this idea for a few years. I like the functionality of a deck but don't like the risks associated with loading onto the 5' height deck. I also don't like having to instal and remove the deck every time I need to change from sledding to using the box.

I got rid of the box and added a deck. The deck height ended up being about 18" lower than a conventional box mounted deck. I wasn't certain how functinal a dek would be compared to a box but I like it a lot more. It is so easy to haul stuff now. The only issue would be if I wanted to haul soil but that happens once every 5 years and I could use a tarp.

The other issue with decks is the width. It is hard to function in a city with a permanent 8 foot wide deck. I used the idea from sled decks to modify my deck with expanding sides. I used 4 support beams so strength is not an issue.

IMG_9058.jpg

a good friend of mine built the steps and the handles. he also mounted the underbody boxes. It is all very strong. PM me if you need some welding and I will send his info. he is a professional welder by day and charges $35 an hour to do work in his garage evenings + weekends.

IMG_9063.jpg

rear view. Still some work to be done. Adding a hitch extension and maybe some mud flaps.

IMG_9060.jpg

here is the deck with sides pulled in.

IMG_9064.jpg

this is the deck with one of the sides pulled out.

IMG_9065.jpg

here is a pic of the steel support beams

IMG_9066.jpg

I like this deck a lot. We went to cataract a few weeks ago and there was almost a foot of snow on the roads. Absolutely no problem and truck even rides a little smoother with some weight.

Ancient Sledder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score