Newbie... what are the rules/regs for dirtbikes?

Laka

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm new to dirtbikes and riding and have been trying to find out what are the rules/regulations (laws) regarding dirtbikes and their usage in alberta. So far I know that insurance/registration is a must. But if I want to ride do I need headlight and taillights? The bike is a YZ250 and it doesn't have lights, and I don't know if a 2 stroke can have lights hooked up to it?

Thanks for any information. I've been searching the government websites etc. but all the information in these places very sparce.

teeroy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm new to dirtbikes and riding and have been trying to find out what are the rules/regulations (laws) regarding dirtbikes and their usage in alberta. So far I know that insurance/registration is a must. But if I want to ride do I need headlight and taillights? The bike is a YZ250 and it doesn't have lights, and I don't know if a 2 stroke can have lights hooked up to it?

Thanks for any information. I've been searching the government websites etc. but all the information in these places very sparce.
I was just told this year that head lights and tail lights are required for riding on crown land on ALL OHV's. you will need a lighting coil to run them, and they're not cheap.

still lot's of guys running MX bikes on the trails, haven't heard of anyone being hassled for it yet.

Laka

Reaction score
Will I have any problems registering a bike that came from BC and has never been reg'd here?

teeroy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
not sure about that, you'll need valid insurance and title/bill of sale for a plate. I don't think you'll need an out of province inspection for an OHV. call registries and check tho, I've been wrong before....

Laka

Reaction score
Anyone know if a dirt bike would qualify for an out of province inspection? I would assume not since it isn't street legal anyway? thanks

rmktony

Reaction score