NA Nytro?

TheMuffinMan

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, just wanted to ask a question simply out of mechanical curiosity. I've got my mind set on buying a new nytro in the spring or next fall. I'm relatively new to the sled world living in northern BC but grew up in southern ab where the snow never stuck around long enough to need a sled. I've done my research and settled on the yammi primarily because of the reliability factor. Given that it'll be my first real sled (I bought a Phazer as a wife/learner sled this winter but I can already tell I need a little more jam) I think a stocker will suit me fine for now but I'm scheming out some down the road mods already. Obviously the turbo route is the most popular kid for these sleds but since I like to do things differently I was curious to know if anyone has heard of anybody building up a naturally aspirated nytro for a mod sled. I am not ruling out a turbo altogether; just interested in exploring some non-conventional possibilities. Thanks, and please dont waste space telling me to go buy a two-stroke...I've made up my mind already on the starting point and I'd rather be riding than wrenching.

SLY

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Smart choice. I read a thread a while back on snowest where a guy in Jackson Hole had gone the NA route and got some impressive hp by raising compression, exhaust and some timing changes, I think there may have been some cylinder head work as well. I don't do much NA mods as most guys go with a turbo that want the extra power, MCX has a really sweet 180 kit that is a real gas and go on 91 octane and the turbo's maintain the hp at altitude. Just do your homework before you spend money on mods and if they sound too good to be true, they usually are. Have fun.

Longhairfreak

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The only way to make a Yamaha half ass enjoyable is with a turbo. Just remember the turbo adds weight.

Trax 2 Treadz

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website