Medium duty truck which engine to get.

Dragonalain

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I’ve been working in heavy industry as a millwright for about 12 years now. I Have always been hair straight back busy until late 2019. The mine I worked at has been shutdown for the unforeseeable future. I have Been relaxing since sept which was much needed but now it’s time to get back to real life.
So my newest venture is I’m trying to start a business that specializes in suppling company’s that need a extra ticketed employees for short periods. Things I’m looking to get hired for is jobs with rush deadlines, huge break downs, holidays, apprenticeship positions etc etc.
I’m also looking to do some farm service work and work out of my shop at the farm which I have welding and machining equipment. One item I do not have is a service truck. I’m currently looking at some medium duty x rail trucks with pickers and service body’s on them. I have 2 to choose from and they are pretty much the same price. One is a 2006 international with a dt466 and the other one is a 2005 freightliner with a Mercedes MBE 900 in it.
I’m only going to have one service truck and won’t be able to afford a inframe or serious break downs for a couple years.

Which truck would be a better buy?

Which engine is better?

Or should I Avoid x rail vehicles?

Both of these trucks are 25g

655055149d88027721b7cede76a5cd9c.jpg

ecec806f00379db132d2f3cb49f3cd84.jpg

cattechsummitrider

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Go with the dt466 I don't work on lots of them and there are alot around,, not the most power but a really reliable engine
I get to work on a lot of older Mercs the 900 is a ok engine but as they age you get alot of electrical problems, blown turbos egr problems, injector issues and blown head gaskets,,, it usually starts at around 500 000 km

Dragonalain

Active VIP Member
Reaction score