Learning how to fix my own sleds

willhickey

Reaction score
I've been sledding for five years now. I have always had my sleds serviced at the dealer. I don't mind paying since I don't have alot of time to fix it. However as sledding gets more popular the turnaround time is getting worse and worse. I would like to learn how to fix them myself however I don't know anything about two strokes. I have done 350 chevy's and that sort of thing however I am courious how different 2 strokes are to work on. Any advise as to where to start, and how many people re-build themselves. Plus if anyone knows where to buy manuels from.

padge

Reaction score
i am in the same boat. i think the best way is tp dive in!!! buy a service manual and start tinkering!! i am lucky in the way that i have a couple pretty knowledable buddys and that helps alot. alot of stuff that seems overwhelming ay first isnt too bad once you dive in with a buddy to point you in the right direction eg...did my own turbo install this year!!!!

rusty

GBCA Member
Reaction score
I would continue to wait in line and pay your money. peice of mind happens to go along way in the hills. As for the little things like sliders and skags i would just dive in. the bolts on the engine i would stay away from but the others i would take it slow and take lots of pics and label all bolts and buckets,

jay007

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I used to ride a sled that was always breaking down and i was always fixing on it more than riding it, that kind of through off my desire to work on sleds. I will do alot myself but the more tedious jobs I take it in for. I like wrenching on things but after having that lemon of a sled I just can't take it as much on sleds anymore.

Slamnek

Active VIP Member
Reaction score