Helmet Question Gang ?

kenvb

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have been wearing a open helmet since my First New 1972 Elan,
had a few dozen sleds since then and the Same Helmet. foams coming out, paint not good, snaps been replace with screws.
I just got a 2003 800 Vertical Escape and my sons say its TIME Pa. to replace the Helmet!
I wear glasses and never could wear a full face, BUT ,with all this power under me now, need better protection, any ideas of a helmet that wont fog my glasses gang.

Modman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I wear glasses and never could wear a full face

Why not? Lots of riders wear full face helmets and glasses. What about the MX style helmets?

Get a breath deflector and your fogging days are over.

Lots of options out there, get one that feels slightly tight on your cheeks, it will fit you perfect after it wears in, don't go too loose or once it wears in it will be too loose on you.

Try lots and lots and lots and lots on and buy the one that fits well and feels good. Stay within your price range but don't worry about the price difference between the ones you narrow your choice down. Your helmet spends a lot of time on your head, that extra $40 is gonna seem like peanuts when your head is sweating all day because you got the cheaper model with less venting (as an example). No you don't need a $1000 carbon fibre helmet, it will not protect you any better than the $300 helmet, it just weighs less.

Wear it and make sure your son has many good years of riding with his old man.

DOONORTH

Reaction score
Investigate some of the better models of modular helmets. They open up for glasses removal, but give you the better protection for the trees. I believe you can even get it with electric visor.
Good luck in your quest. Finding a helmet to match your riding style is almost as hard as finding that perfect ride.:)

BC Sno-Ghost

Active VIP Member
Reaction score