Electric start

raap58

Reaction score
looking for anybody and everybodys advice

Is electric start in a sled a nice feature to have? easy start, but additional weight

Looking at getting a sled and one potential has this option

Wait for pros to get cheaper or upgrade to a newer RMK/Dragon/ IQR mountain mod

will accept any and all opinions

Newbie20

Reaction score
I am a new sled owner and bought a used sled with electric start and I love it. Bought it because my young kids would have issues starting the sled. Nice feature as far as I am concerned.

thegeneral

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
any of the "injected" sleds really don't need it. They start with 1 or 2 pulls almost always no matter how long they've been upside down or tipped on their side. Also if you may be passing it down to kids or smaller ladies, they will appreciate being able to start it themselves.

raap58

Reaction score
I am a college student with no wife or kids so its just a 19 year old 185 pound kid

thegeneral

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
LOL that makes a difference too! Its a little different for us "old" guys. if its the same price, i'd take the estart, at very least you can pull it off and sell it.

yammyboy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Yeah I see what you mean I got electric start on my sled but that's cause you couldn't start it with out it

Luvinit

Reaction score
Like was said above, on a carbed sled if you flood it or roll it e-start is priceless, on a fuel injected sled not so much. That being said, I have 3 injected sleds with starters on all three, once you have one you,re hooked for life.

Highfly

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I was riding a RMK 600 with electric start. My daughter is on that now. I now have a 800 with out electric start. I wish I had it. It's quite a bit harder to pull over than the 600.