Diamond drive trouble yes or no?

MattM

Reaction score
So its my first time pulling out the secondary clutch to even look at the side of the drive. But after yesterdays ride I noticed some oil spray in the clutch area. a thin film looked like it had been whipped around. So tonight I pulled off the secondary clutch looking for a dip stick or something. Cant seem to find one. But i did find what i think is either the fill plug or the drain plug for the diamond drive (located lower on the side) I unscrewed it and nothing came out and could not see any level inside. I cant find any cracks or source of the oil. Have any of you guys experienced this before. also there is no oil under the sled or in the belly pan. Is it a gasket or something more major? Help please suppoesed to go to Golden in a week!

Also i replaced the belt before this ride!

The seld is an 06 M7 with some mods

Matt

glengine

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Usually what causes it to get a light film of oil like that is the vent gets plugged(in the bolt hole for sec clutch) then it builds up pressuree as it heats up and blows out some of the silicone between the two D/D halves. So i'd split the d/d halves and resilicone it and make sure that the vent is clear. The bolt that you can take out is a fill/ full level check.

Can-Do

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
what he said ^. buddy just went through the exact same issue and found this to be the cause

chadwik74

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Buddy just piled his up on the weekend....06 M7....no oil in it! $1000 bill

MattM

Reaction score
So is it possible that I had the secondary bolt too tight and this did not let it ventilate properly causing it to blow oil thru the gasket? The slot seems to be clear of junk but after I changed the belt i made sure that bolt was tight then we went for a ride! So perhaps I over tightened the bolt. How tight should it be?

Matt

calgarysledguy

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com