Diamond Drive removal

climbin

Reaction score
I am new to the diamond drive thing and am in the process of a track change. I unbuttoned everything last night but can't seem to break the drive shaft loose from the diamond drive. So before I get rowdy I wanted to ask the group if there is anything that holds the drive shaft in place.

The brake side is all uncoupled and the drive shaft is free. My next step was to put a slide hammer on the brake side and try to break it loose.

Any suggestions before I get rammy would be appreciated.

foothills m8

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
We just took a diamond drive off an 05 m6 had to use a claw hammer and long screw driver to pry diamond drive off it was rusted onto the shaft good,

climbin

Reaction score
Mine is virtually brand new so as long as there isn't anything holding it from the inside I'm going to use a slide hammer on it.

rwjk0

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I am the furthest from a cat man, but I think it has a two piece shaft. The shaft should be hollow with a bolt in the middle. All you should need is an extra long extension.

IFSM8

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Yes there is a bolt in the center of the drive shaft! Do not pry it off! It is located on the rotor end. need large extention and patience.LOL:)

climbin

Reaction score
Damn, I never even looked in the end of the shaft, well thanks and hopefully you're right

chris79

Reaction score
I am new to the diamond drive thing and am in the process of a track change. I unbuttoned everything last night but can't seem to break the drive shaft loose from the diamond drive. So before I get rowdy I wanted to ask the group if there is anything that holds the drive shaft in place.

The brake side is all uncoupled and the drive shaft is free. My next step was to put a slide hammer on the brake side and try to break it loose.