Clutch confusion

TravisFader

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Ok so a few questions for you smart guys out there. I have a 04 Viper and i dropped about 5 grams each weight in my primary getting ready for the mountains. This increased my engagement RPM from 4200 to 5000. Should not a lighter weight make my engagement RPM go down thus making it easier to turn the track in the mountains? Do i want my mountain clutch setup to engage at a high rpm or a low one? Soooo confused here. any help would be greatly appreciated. Does 5000 rpm seem like the right engagement rpm for the mountains?

magnet

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
A lighter weight will make engagement go up as your clutch works on centrifical force. Faster/ heavier it spins sooner it engages. however your spring tension also makes a big differance. As for the 5000 rpm lock up for mountains i would think it would be good for you but i am no expert on it.

NM

Boost It - Fuel your Boost
Reaction score
Ok so a few questions for you smart guys out there. I have a 04 Viper and i dropped about 5 grams each weight in my primary getting ready for the mountains. This increased my engagement RPM from 4200 to 5000. Should not a lighter weight make my engagement RPM go down thus making it easier to turn the track in the mountains? Do i want my mountain clutch setup to engage at a high rpm or a low one? Soooo confused here. any help would be greatly appreciated. Does 5000 rpm seem like the right engagement rpm for the mountains?
More weight on the toe of the weight = higher engagement or less weight on the heel of the weight will do the same thing. I assume you removed a rivet from the clutch? Try and weight your weights so you have more of the total weight to the heel. More weight on the end is better for drag racing...not so good in the mountains. Might be time to buy a new spring too. Any yammie dealer should have a high altitude recommended spring for your setup.

TravisFader

Active VIP Member
Reaction score