Bent frame..

llloyd

Reaction score
G/f hit a tree pretty hard with her new 550. Dropped it off at the shop, they said the engine is about 3mm from where it should be and they are going to try and pull the frame bac kinto place but if they can't its pretty much a writeoff. Even then theres a couple G's of parts to replace (bulkhead etc).

I'm no mechanic, but 3mm doesn't sound like a whole lot. What is the real world impact of having it out of alignment that much? If it just tracks a tiny bit off she'd never notice, but if it means it could snap in half at any second of course i don't want to take any chances.

If its not bad and not a safety issue i'd just as soon not spend another 7 grand on a new one.

MOMMA

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
G/f hit a tree pretty hard with her new 550. Dropped it off at the shop, they said the engine is about 3mm from where it should be and they are going to try and pull the frame bac kinto place but if they can't its pretty much a writeoff. Even then theres a couple G's of parts to replace (bulkhead etc).

I'm no mechanic, but 3mm doesn't sound like a whole lot. What is the real world impact of having it out of alignment that much? If it just tracks a tiny bit off she'd never notice, but if it means it could snap in half at any second of course i don't want to take any chances.

If its not bad and not a safety issue i'd just as soon not spend another 7 grand on a new one.

Is your girlfriend ok?..

blastoff

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Could you post some photos, Is this a Ski doo 550. You may be able to change out some parts then possibly straighten out the damaged parst it is attached to. We did this on a Summit 800. With dismantling it then observing it closer they may be done depending on the extent.

posnick

Active VIP Member
Reaction score