any heavy truck mechs here

pirate31red

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
putting an air shut off on my 09 pete. im not sure how to hook it up so it shuts off at a certain rpm is the ecm prewired or set up for such a thing any help would be grrrrreat

hypnotoad

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
i'm not a mechanic but what type of PASO are you installing? on my roda deco there was a control box that reads the RPM that you set the shut off limit on.

TROLLCAT

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
why do you need it to shut off at a certain rpm , is it a run away protection device

hypnotoad

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
mine is set about 150rpm above my redline, so the only way it can toggle is if the engine starts to run away or some how goes above my rev limiter

pirate31red

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
its an isx and yes need it to read rpm incase it gets a sniff of gas and runs away still have the manual switch but i would like it to kick off at about 2300 rpm

pistonbroke800

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
why do you need it to shut off at a certain rpm , is it a run away protection device

Ya in case you suck gas in your air intake the truck with shut off the air supply causing the engine to stall out. Keeps it from going kablammo!!

Side note: one you install your air shut off i would recommend actually tripping it every once in a while with the truck shut off. I have had a few over the years seize open and are a pain in the azz to get working again.

sirkdev

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
And they actually have these cool new ones for rigs that work on a radio frequency that when a situation happens somebody hits the ESD button and sends a wireless signal to all diesels equipped with the positive air shut offs and the lease is silent within a second. Cool stuff.

Flatlander_01

Active VIP Member
Reaction score