AFR limits

Phat Cat

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I installed a Koso X-2 gaude on my 12 M1100t and it is great. I can set the AFR limits on the gauge and a warning light will come on if it is past the limit. I am kinda new to the 4 stroke turbo scene and new to the AFR gauge. Running an Evo super chute kit. Always use 100LL avgas and set on the 310 hp setting. anyone know a baseline of rich and lean limits to look for? Thanks.

Merc63

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I'd say you would want to be targeting 11.9:1. Anything leaner than 12.5:1.

Depending on your fuel system, fueling is going to be jumping around a bit and tripping the alarm constantly.

i wouldn't want it richer that 11.5, but richer is not as bad as lean.

samsquatch47

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.powermerchants.ca
4 strks can run as lean as 14-16:1 cruising down the trail at a low load situation without any problem. If it's running at 11.9:1 in the midrange you're just wasting fuel. Merc's numbers are right for WOT but idle is good around 13:1 and like I said cruise can be way leaner without hurting it.

Merc63

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Ouch 16:1 crusing, I would stay far away from that. Good way to create way too much heat. Stiochometric for pump gas 14.7:1.

my numbers are wot. Cruise Id say 13.5:1 to 14:1.

part throttle 13:1

who cares about burning a bit more fuel if it's easier on your engine.

Ideally you you want to throw the machine on a dyno and make fueling and timing changes while doing pulls and watching power. Every engine is different.

samsquatch47

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.powermerchants.ca