advise

styylesnwife

Reaction score
Hello,I am new to sleding and we went out on the weekend for the 1st time. I have a 800 rmk polaris 2003.We were going down the road and about 5km in it started to smoke like crazy. I stoped the sled and opened the hood to find antifreeze all over the place. I dont see any loose hoses or clamps. Closed the hood and tryed to start but would not. Today went and put new antifrezze in and started no problem, reved up the engine and didnt see any leaks. Should I be concern or does anyone have any suggestions on what I should do. I am not a mechanic and dont pretend to be...lol. I would hate to take it some where to have them charge me 200 dollars and tell me there is nothing wrong. Talk to a guy on the road that stoped and he didnt see anything. He also said that there was not enough snow on the road and the cooler on the back may have just over heated, would that cause the antifreeze/pressure build up to drain the tank?Like I said any help would be great.Thanks

markoo

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
you overheated it. check cylinders for scoring. also check for leaks after you fill it up and run it.

styylesnwife

Reaction score
I did fill up today and didn't see any leaks. Seemed like it was empty. Took a lot of antifreeze

suzuki_ryder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
How do I check cylinder for scoring?
You have to tear the motor apart. If you stopped as soon as you saw the smoke, I 100% guarantee you did no damage. You'd have to ride it for a good few mins after to cause any engine damage. Fill it back up with coolant and ride it for another few years.

barleyfarmer

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
At the very least pull off the y-pipe and look at your pistons.It sounds like you heat seized it and it started after it cooled off!Was your temp lite flashing on the dash?Did it stop on it's own or you shut it off?If it quit on it's own that is not good!I bet you have scored pistons at the very least!

capt. crunch