2006 Kodiak 400 will not start

Hef

Reaction score
After several months of not using my quad it would not start for me. I changed the plug drained the gas and put new gas in the tank. I did get it to start today and it ran for about 10 seconds, it died and I was able to get it to start again which it ran for about 10 seconds.

Now it will not start, I read a post where someone else was having a similar problem but it was water in the carb and maybe water in the gas too. Someone told him to drain the gas out of the carb, I guess there is a drain plug or cock to turn to drain the gas.

I am not very good with engine stuff, can someone give me a little advice and what to do next. If I need to drain the gas out of the carb could you please explain to me where the carb is located and how to drain the gas out, I think I might have some of the old gas in the carb.

Thank you

ttpowersports

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
After several months of not using my quad it would not start for me. I changed the plug drained the gas and put new gas in the tank. I did get it to start today and it ran for about 10 seconds, it died and I was able to get it to start again which it ran for about 10 seconds.

Now it will not start, I read a post where someone else was having a similar problem but it was water in the carb and maybe water in the gas too. Someone told him to drain the gas out of the carb, I guess there is a drain plug or cock to turn to drain the gas.

I am not very good with engine stuff, can someone give me a little advice and what to do next. If I need to drain the gas out of the carb could you please explain to me where the carb is located and how to drain the gas out, I think I might have some of the old gas in the carb.

Thank you
\\\

no problem.. heres what u do

assuming ur kodiak is the auto-