04 Griz 660 "Clunking"

jbettens

Reaction score
I am looking for your thoughts on how serious of problem my Griz has. I took it out today for ride and after about 10km of light 4x4ing in the snow, it developed a clunking noise behind the front driveshaft. In 2 wheel drive with front the brakes on and the rear tires slowly turning on ice, the noise does not develop until I apply the back brake and put a little torque into it. I am not a mechanic so I took it to someone who is. I am preparing myself for the worse but hoping for the best in that it is relatively simple to fix and not to expensive. Any ideas what one might be looking at here for repairs (parts? dollars?) Tough to diagnosis I know but thought maybe someone may have had a similar experience. The quad only has 1500kms and is in mint condition (or was).

northern bear

RIP May 30,2022
Reaction score
I got an 07 700 that's doing the same. Doesn't matter if it's in 2 or 4 wheel. As soon as I lean on the throttle a bit hard there is a audible clunk and I can feel it in the floorboards as well. Same as when I let the throttle off. I'm suspecting the one way bearing is starting to go. Be nice to know what your mechanic says.

Sent from my iPhone because dial-up sucks!

bds1

Reaction score
I'm sure its nothing a few thousand dollars can't fix. As long as you didn't have to get pulled home by a Honda.

northern bear

RIP May 30,2022
Reaction score
Well if it is the one way bearing on the wet clutch it's only 120 bucks or so plus a new gasket for another 15. If u include labour then another 3 hrs at whatever they charge. Adds up quick. Never get pulled home by a Honda. Been pulled outta a hole a couple times by them but only cause they can't get in that far lol

Sent from my iPhone because dial-up sucks!

jbettens

Reaction score