Screw piles versus conventional

Switch

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Planning on building a patio roof over my deck and I require two piles approximately 16' deep by 12" dia. One contractor has suggected the use of screw piles for this application and I have little or no knowledge:confused: of this piling method, has anyone out there used these and are they a tried and tested method of piling. Any feedback would be appreciated.

imdoo'n

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
most of the oil rig anchor co. have screw piles, can be used for trailers etc. give one a call for more info. more than likely a lot cheaper faster install etc. don't see any neg to screw piles, but check around.

scotts

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
they work fine and are quick and simple for an application such as you are planning

catzuki

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
All screw piles are an auger that they screw into the ground that they leave there permant. They are gonna be a bit cheaper only because it takes them all of 1 hour to install and then you can use them asap. I have used them lots in oilfield apps but never residential.

blastoff

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I think the 16 foot deep is over kill, frost only goes to 8-9 feet maximum. On my recent reno which was for foundation piles we only went 8 ft x 12 inch and did it with a bobcat. That only took minutes as long as you dont hit rocks.

maxwell

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
seeing alot of screw piles in residential now. just did a complete house with 65 screw piles. was a 30% savings.

yes the frost only goes 4-6ft deep but pilings work on surface friction so you need to calculate the weight that will be on each pile and figure out what length you need from that. the supplier will have that information.

QMAO

Active VIP Member
Reaction score