LoginRegister
SnowandMud.com - Powered by vBulletin

Today's Posts
Page 1 of 10 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 97
  1. #1
    Member sharpstick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    22

    Opinions of family SXS'

    I have a Ranger 800 and love it for what I have used it for (average, hunting, plowing snow and trail riding.) I installed a bench seat in the back for the kids to ride in (the backwards facing one) and it has served its purpose but the kids have gotten a bit older (7, 9 and 10) and I am thinking of upgrading to a "limo" style SXS. they are obviously longer but is there anything negative or positive about the different ones out there. I love the looks and style of the RZR but they only come with 4 seats. i have 3 kids plus wife so would like to get something that seats 5. So does this put me in the category or Ranger, Terex, etc? Is there a "sport model that has seating for 5? Im just starting to look so my questions may seem rookie like, sorry.
    whatever I get will need to fit in a 12'6" toy hauler as well, not sure how long they all are. The 4 seat RZR and a quad would be great but then I don't want to have to haul a second trailer and second vehicle.
    Are the longer units a pain in the a$$ for getting through the bush in tighter spots? Ive been in some tight spots with the Ranger so Im sure they will be more challenging.
    Anyway, all opinions are welcome.

    Thanks all.
    Happy trails.

    SS



  2. #2
    Royal LePage - Gateway Blvd
    arff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Leduc
    Posts
    82,839

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    Kawi 4 seater. I know 3 people that have them and ride with us. Great units


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Val Senio
    Realtor- Royal LePage Gateway Realty

    Call 780-405-9359


    Bos Motorsports test pilot.



    "Bones Heal, Chicks Dig Scars, Pain is Temporary, Glory is forever..









  3. #3
    Senior Member
    S.W.A.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Smithers
    Posts
    2,583

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    We have the crew 800 and love but have found the kids are more in to riding their own as they get older. Bought them a 110 quad last year and they just take turns on longer trips. We found they just started to get board riding in the back lol. My kids are 9,6,6. The crew will go anywhere yours will just takes a little more precision some times. One down fall is the length because a longer wheelbase requires a trailer.
    I get 50miles to the gallon on this hog

  4. #4
    Member bjd68's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Abbotsford B.C.
    Posts
    352

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    I bought a Honda pioneer 1000 5 seater and have been very happy with it ! Seats 5 comfortable and is not a limo!

  5. #5
    Member beerwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    BC
    Posts
    180

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    Like bjd said check out the pioneer if you need seating for five or the can am defender if you want to carry six

  6. #6
    Royal LePage - Gateway Blvd
    arff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Leduc
    Posts
    82,839

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    Do a good camparison. Our friends who purchased a 4 seater did a demo of a couple. Also some rear seating is not great for a 4 or 5 hour day of riding.

    He has no problem with his in the bush trails or open pipelines.
    Val Senio
    Realtor- Royal LePage Gateway Realty

    Call 780-405-9359


    Bos Motorsports test pilot.



    "Bones Heal, Chicks Dig Scars, Pain is Temporary, Glory is forever..









  7. #7
    Member sharpstick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    22

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    Thanks for the opinions guys. I will definitely take a look at the Honda. I stopped at a Polaris dealer and we looked up some aftermarket parts and it looks like you can swap out the rear buckets and put in a 3 seat bench seat. Its not cheap but it may be an option.
    The length of the 4 seat RZR is right at my max so I will have to compare to some other models.
    I like the clearance of the RZR's and the Can Am Maverick's.
    Holy $hit though are these units pricey... I had no idea they were worth as much as they are asking. I bought my '13 Ranger for 12K and these 4 seaters are over double that... doesn't seem to be many used 4 seaters on the market either.
    I doubt its worth looking in the US with our dollar, anyone have any experience saving any $ down south?
    Anyway, thanks again for the tips, the search continues.

    SS

  8. #8
    Member
    deaner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Creston, BC
    Posts
    2,234

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    We're in the exact same spot as you. Paid 11 for my 2011 ranger and have never used a toy so much in my life. Have 3 children now also so thinking of upgrading. It is freaking ridiculous how much the new 6 seaters are worth! Ill be following this thread to see what you come up with.



  9. #9
    Senior Member
    S.W.A.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Smithers
    Posts
    2,583

    Re: Opinions of family SXS'

    With the dollar the way it is explains why the price has gone up
    I get 50miles to the gallon on this hog

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    rzrgade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    West of Toronto
    Posts
    7,689

    Opinions of family SXS'

    Yeah , the green farm machines are really a hard sell... Huge increase in prices .John Deere is not moving as much iron at all , super tough to pass that increase to the buyer...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by rzrgade; January 19th, 2017 at 06:56 PM.
    "She ain't pretty , she just looks that way...."




Page 1 of 10 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •