What style of helmet is best

kawasakikx250

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hello! Im new to sledding and have been trying to decide what style of helmet to go with. Last winter I used my dirt bike helmet but have been thinking of getting a full face helmet with heated visor for this winter?i found one that has a orange lense inside that slides down when needed what do you all think? thanks for the advice. So far I have only been trail riding and playing in what deep snow I can find.

Last edited:

adamg

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
A full face modular with heated visor is best in cold weather, at high speeds, and on long distance rides. If you are playing hard in deep snow then a motocross style helmet is best. I have one of each and choose depending on those factors.

neilsleder

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I think most people go with mx style and goggles. If you are interested I got a fxr helmet and goggles for cheap if you want to go that root.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Got boost want snow

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I've rode with both and it is all preference I breath as well in a full face heated visor as I do in a motocross style. Only issues I have is if I have been riding hard when I stop the goggles must come off quickly or they fog. Personal preference!!!

Highfly

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I also have tried both. A non heated full face is not the way to go. Fogs up super fast and once it does your done. All you can do is pop it open a bit and peek out.
So I went to a Motocross style with goggles. And I still have issues with fogging goggles BUT! I picked up a second pair and have a under hood bag to keep the extra goggles. Now when I get fogged up I just switch them out. It's sooooooo nice. The goggles under the hood defrost super fast so if you re fog again no worries just switch out again.

mb1

Active VIP Member
Reaction score