Transporting by Truck

gorpet

Reaction score
I am new to sledding and have a few questions in regards to transporting my sled. I plan on hauling in the back of my shortbox Chev.

1. How tight should the sled be strapped down?

2. With Chains or tie down straps

3. Is it safe to leave it in the back of the pick up 24/7 or will some low life steal it.

4. Will women desire me more with a sled

Thank You in advance

Gord

imdoo'n

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
definite chick magnet, more so than maybe even a harley. the'll see you as a rebel ahead of your time.

tie downs will work fine, as to theft nothing is safe.

ESOX

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I am new to sledding and have a few questions in regards to transporting my sled. I plan on hauling in the back of my shortbox Chev.

1. How tight should the sled be strapped down?enough to keep it in the truck and to prevent side-to-side movement

2. With Chains or tie down strapseither one should work as long as they are good quality

3. Is it safe to leave it in the back of the pick up 24/7 or will some low life steal it.ABSOLUTELY some low-life will steal it!!!!!

4. Will women desire me more with a sledABSOLUTELY:cool:

Thank You in advance

Gord

Hope this helps:d:cool:

Modman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score

3. Is it safe to leave it in the back of the pick up 24/7 or will some low life steal it.

Thank You in advance

Gord

Short box - make sure you have enough on the front to keep it in. you might consider building a small 2x4 deck under the skis and track to "extend" the bed a little more. The weight of the skis will keep the deck down in the front when the track is pushing on it. Are you going to keep the tailgate up or down?

Tie down's for sure. Chains no way.

Lock it up at all times unless its a Polaris, then you don't have to worry - no one will want to steal it anyway.