Top End??

jdawgtherigpig

Reaction score
hey guys.
im new to sledding,learnt everything i know from reading forums...

well i was flying across the lake at about a buck twenty and my 05 summit 800 stopped. made a little back fire and that was her.
towed back to the cabin and pulled my plugs.
pto side spark plug has knicks on it and low compression.
im assuming i wrecked a ring??? and need a top end???
ive never ripped apart a motor before. is there any tricks to doing a top end.
should i be looking for anything else?

whitegold

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I think it is pretty safe to assume you wrecked more then a ring!! If you've never pulled apart a motor before you might want to call some help to do it the first time, or get a shop manual.... I've done my motor a few times (I know .... that doesn't sound good.. ) and I would recommend putting in new dual ringed pistons..... good luck!! :d:beer:

jdawgtherigpig

Reaction score
haha ya i was pretty sure more then just a ring..lol
trying to be optimistic..lol
whats it cost to do a top end usually. just curious on an average price??

whitegold

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Well..... at least your optimistic... and still smiling!! lol...
It's hard to give an estimate on the cost till you open it up and find out the damage. I just recently did my pistons due to low compression on one side, but I didn't have any cylinder damage.

These are the pistons I put in....

Ski Doo REV XP 800R DUAL RING piston kit on eBay.ca (item 280586447779 end time 07-Mar-11 22:56:09 EST)

... and if the cylinders are just lightly scarred you might want to just re-coat them....

If the cylinders are to scarred then you may have to replace them.... OUCH!!! I would think that is in the neighborhood of $1200.00

... and then depending on if there was any "shavings" that my have gone down into the crank you may want to clean that up and check that...

Sorry to be the bearrer of bad news.... let us know how it goes.

DRD