Spray foam in a house

08arcticcat

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Were looking at building a new house next spring. 1820 sq ft, bungalow with blown in R60 roof, and triple pane windows. I told the builder to make it warm and he came back with 4.5" of closed high density spray foam. About R5.5/ inch. I think he said its like 6g less to do roxul mineral wool.

How much better is spray foam? Even if it saved 25 dollars a month in gas and AC, thats 20 years recovery, not to mention the extra interest on the mortgage.

Eagle

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I built 2 years ago, bungalow also. I did the spray foam and I can say that it was the best money spent on my house. I am an electrician so I brought home our IR Gun which detects temps. My house is 3600 sq ft and I can honestly say I have one 3 inch spot in the top corner of my family room that has a small draft (That's it). No drafts around outlets which is common with standard insulation. The sound proofing is amazing. The only thing I wish I would have done is the roof I did blow in. My thoughts was if I ever wanted to add something via the ceiling it would be easier with blow in. They can spray foam your house in one day and be dry-walling the next. Much faster. My two cents

rsaint

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
We are building as we speak and we did sip panels house 8' 1650sq ft,garage 10' 1600 sq ft and the walkout 9' 56' long wall in basement, a true r25 insulating value, cost was 26g up in 2 days, and 1 day for walkout, finished wire it and drywall, cost was about 5000 more biggest saving is time they fit like a glove on foundation all r/o for windows and doors and cutouts for electrical done. S structrual I insulated P panels they come in 6.5'' and 8.5''.

08arcticcat

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I was gonna do sip walls, but the company labour quote was atrocious.

Ronaha

Active VIP Member
Reaction score