rad relocation

malinowski3

Reaction score
i am new to quads as in i got my first this year and in vids on youtube and stuff i see quads with a rad relocation or where the rad is on the front rack what do these do? is it just alot better cooling? how about running snorkles with it? wow thats alot of questions :d

DaveB

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Cooling is worse because the rad is leaned over. The advantage is that it stays clean.

AreWeThereYet

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Cooling is worse because the rad is leaned over. The advantage is that it stays clean.

I wouldn't say that cooling is worse,.. because the rad is open to ambient air, rather than being tuck in under a bunch of shields.

For me, instead of relocating my rad, I installed a TCP fan shrond that made a world of difference because the fan is more efficient now.

jncmcat

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
When you ride in muskeg or real slurry clay mud the only salvation is the rad relocate, if your plugged solid your fan can't work hard enough. As soon as you stop riding the mud bakes in the fins and your toast. I ride in the mountians where you usually run into a creek or river that is clean and the rad has no issue, ride around home in the puss mud and your day is long waiting for the quads to quit overheating. I spent the $300 for the brp rad kit and have been happy since, slowly converting the rest of the riding group to relocate their rads also. Nothing worse than only being able to go a couple kms and have to wait for the quad to cool. Happy muddin':beer::)

DaveB

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I wouldn't say that cooling is worse,.. because the rad is open to ambient air, rather than being tuck in under a bunch of shields.

For me, instead of relocating my rad, I installed a TCP fan shrond that made a world of difference because the fan is more efficient now.