Project rat

moto5151

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Been tossing around the idea of building a rat rod, specifically for resale. I've been searching kijiji for alot possible projects, and have noticed that anything cool is really expensive. So I figured, i I've got a few oldies kicking around, an why not build a rat project that the average guy can buy. Under 10,000 complete, safety inspected, ready to roll.
Would there be any sort of interest out there? Or am I wasting my time?
I'm thinking keeping it simple, cheap, raw, but safe. I'm a mechanic by trade, and I'm fully aware of the rules.
Any info, ideas, or thoughts on on this idea would be great.
I've got a great 37 chev cab, and a few small blocks kicking around.

crazy_wheeler

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Have you seen that show Vegas Rat Rods? They've got a sweet D-Rod pushing 850ish hp and sounds pretty good when that turbo spools up. The episode where the owner cooked the original diesel engine he was sucking donuts in the parking lot. They built a D-Rod from a late 40's Mack cab on a dodge 3500 chassis and dropped in a 650hp diesel.

john s

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Have you seen that show Vegas Rat Rods? They've got a sweet D-Rod pushing 850ish hp and sounds pretty good when that turbo spools up. The episode where the owner cooked the original diesel engine he was sucking donuts in the parking lot. They built a D-Rod from a late 40's Mack cab on a dodge 3500 chassis and dropped in a 650hp diesel.

Love the show I would love a diesel rat rod

Sent from my iPhone while wishing the snow was gone so I can go dirt biking.

Clode

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
pretty tough to build a road worthy Rat Rod for under 10 grand

moto5151

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Ya I've been watching his builds for a while now. Mostly on fb though.