OEM belts vs Aftermarket belts

Mad Mike

Reaction score
I am fairly new to sledding. Started riding a buddy's polaris 600 switchback last year and bought almost the identical asked only1 year newer this year. Had to purchase a new belt last year for his sled at around a hundred bucks. Just called to pick up a new belt for mine and now they want around 160. Is there any difference between the manufactures and the after market belts? :confused:

Last edited:

Modman

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I am fairly new to sledding. Started riding a buddy's polaris 600 switchback last year and bought almost the identical asked only1 year newer this year. Had to purchase a new belt last year for his sled at around a hundred bucks. Just called to pick up a new belt for mine and now they want around 160. Is there any difference between the manufactures and the after market belts?

You will hear both responses on this subject: Yes and no. Lots of guys have blown aftermarket belts, and swear they are junk. Lots of guys have run them with success and so you will hear they are good. I had good luck with aftermarket belts. They are made to the same spec in most cases as OEMs. Usually by belt companies who specialize in belts. No way around it but to try one yourself and see what happens. Pricing on OEM belts seems to be consistent across Cat, Doo and Poo, they all want an arm and leg for one. They are a consumable item on a sled and required for operation so there's got to be a mark up on them....

Yammy makes a belt for $80 and it will outlast basically all of the others, too bad they didnt make them to fit all sleds.