New Rider looking to purchase Yamaha WR 250

Rusty99

Reaction score
Hi Y'all,

I'm in the market to purchase a 2007 or newer Yamaha WR 250 as my first dirt bike. I need some help with what to look for when checking out a used dirt bike and also some pricing. I'm a total newbie to dirt bikes so any tips are appreciated.

I'm very picky about the maintenance of my truck and quad so I'm really in the market to buy a bike that has been looked after really really well. WR's are hard to come by in the used market so I need to be ready to make a quick decision. I looked at a 2007 WR 250 with 2400km tonight and it looked like it wasn't very well maintained. The guy was the 2nd owner for past 3yrs and has never oiled the chain or cleaned the oil filter. He wanted $4000 and I'm leary about the bike. I'd like to offer $3000 given it will need a new chain and probably sprockets. The right fork also appeared to be leaking. It also needs a new battery.

Anyways here's my basic list of things to inspect.

1. Airfilter cleanliness
2. Tightness of spokes
3. Leaks on forks
4. Tire lugs missing or loose
5. Chain oiled
6. Chain tightness (I'm not sure how tight it should be?)

Looking forward to your input

cheers

takethebounce

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
There is lots you can look at. I would look at the fork seals for leaks. A chain in bad shape could just be an old chain. I would look at the sprockets for wear. The brake rotors can help show true age and wear as well. They should be smoother on a lower hour bike. If they are heavily worn it can be an indicator of higher mileage.

$4000 sounds a little higher. $3000 and it sounds like you would still be adding new parts. Hard to find something maintained well for under $3500.

Don't be afraid to shop around. Look at prices in different areas. People will ask redonkulous amounts of money for junk.

sent from a top secret location

john s

Active VIP Member
Reaction score