Need first timer advice

calltrex

Reaction score
might come to Valemont Feb 15,16

2 concerns..

1- Never been to mountains on sled so complete newbie.

2- my sled is not a mountain sled. its a crossover sled

my sled is a 2014 Cat XF7000 with the new yamaha engine in it. 141" track and 1.6 paddles. i put powder pro skis on.

so is there still lots for me to explore without the steep and deep with my sled??

im not at all expecting to come there and ride through the deep like i have a light mountain sled.

im from Saskatchewan so theres no mountains around here.

i wouldn't care if i was more on trails then off in the deep. go up to some mountain tops for some cool views and pics. dont really care. just dont want to be digging my sled out every 15 minutes or ill just leave it burried. its like 550lbs with full tank

i do have a beacon and stuff. Did just take the AST 1 avy course. just the class and the indoor workshop. so i at least know the basics if i had to do it

what areas would be good for me or where to stay away from?

wheres the cheapest place to stay??

any suggestions or advice would be good.

thanks

Attachments

• GOPR0538 copy.jpg
    GOPR0538 copy.jpg
    80 KB · Views: 422
  • GOPR0537 copy.JPG
    GOPR0537 copy.JPG
    211.2 KB · Views: 432

minnow10

Reaction score
you will do fine with this machine IMO, Depends on the snow conditions, More times than not you can travel through most areas without problems, find areas to play .knowing what you have before you go is good , Go have fun , enjoy the experience , learn lots of stuff , play safe !

All Three areas n Valemount, get to the cabin and explore from there .

Chalet continental, always clean, inexpensive, nice people

Last edited:

Summiteer

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Ride with people that you trust and know the area. People have ridden way less mountain friendly sleds in the hills and had a blast.

sc800

Active VIP Member
Reaction score