Honda foremans chewing batteries

Stumpy

Reaction score
Hi out there I'm not a mechanic by any means ,but it seems both my honda foremans chew through batteries 1 a year .Anybody having same problems electrical system seems to be charging but if left them both over a 2 week period and now arfe pooched again .

Any suggestions even a good replacement battery ,with longevity?????

Please help 1 is 98 honda foreman 450es the other is 2002 honda foreman es

:rant:::confused::confused::confused:

ttpowersports

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hi out there I'm not a mechanic by any means ,but it seems both my honda foremans chew through batteries 1 a year .Anybody having same problems electrical system seems to be charging but if left them both over a 2 week period and now arfe pooched again .

Any suggestions even a good replacement battery ,with longevity?????

Please help 1 is 98 honda foreman 450es the other is 2002 honda foreman es

:rant:::confused::confused::confused:

two things with atvs, motorcycles, snowmobiles, etc, They do not have an alternator. which is required to keep your battery fully charged.
They work of a stator that has different coils.. ignition, pulser, lighting and a charge coil.

A charge coil only puts back what the bike/atv is drawing. and in order to keep your battery charged up you need to trickle more into it than is going out. I believe all owners manuals tell you that you should put a battery charger on the unit a few times per year.

what normaly happens is that the battery goes dead or gets low and when it is discharged it will freeze over the winter or eventually die out. and then in some cases not hold a charge. sometimes you get lucky and can charge it and get it to come back to life.

Heres what i would recommend. - first charge and test your battery to make sure it is no good before you buy a new one. - it may only need to be recharged if your lucky.. if you load test it, you will know, this should be a freebee from any dealer..