Ford F 350 Travel Trailer Towing Issue

ZRrrr

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Looking for feedback from 2008 to 2010 F350 owners regarding travel trailer towing/hitch setup. We have a 28 foot, 30.6 foot overall, TT weighing in at about 7800 loaded. Middle kitchen and we try to load the trailer over the axles and in front as much as possible. Hitch is a Reese Dual Cam weight distribution/anti sway system with 1200Lb bars.

I had my Nissan Titan setup perfectly to haul this trailer and it worked amazing in all conditions. For the life of me I cannot get this F350 to stop wandering from side to side in the lane. It's not sway from what I can tell, just casual wander between the lines. Had the front end inspected when I bought the truck and a couple parts were replaced. Steering box was adjusted and I replaced the dampener with a bilstein unit. There does not seem to be any play in the front end whatsoever. I am not a newbie at setting up the hitch. Without load the truck front end measures 42 1/2", rear at 43 1/2". Snapped up with the trailer level, the front can be 42" with the rear at about 42" as well. I have an 80Lb dog that rides in the back in his kennel, along with the usual extra jerry can, some firewood and other small stuff.

Have read that some of these F350's can be a challenge to set up right. Some suggestions have been that it's due to the all terrain tires (Toyo AT II), or that I need to really crank the weight distribution up (this from a hitch shop owner). That doesn't seem right as never had to "really crank it up" on other trucks, just equal distribution and level all around. Tire wear on the trailer looks fine but I will be measuring to make sure axles are straight. Pretty confident they are.

Am I missing anything? I'm baffled and tired of driving with it like that. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks.

LinkTank

Active VIP Member
Reaction score