flap or no flap.... that is the question!

lovinmclovin

Reaction score
Website
www.mclevinindustries.ca
so im new to the whole sledding sport.... racing moto is my primary. anyway, got an 08 rev xp. seen guys with no flap and some with. wondering if it is a huge issue that i already took a zip cut to the flap cause it looked gayer than aids? basically, am i going to fubar my machine by leaving the flap off?
any advice for this newb is much appreciated. thx.

Bogger

Bogger of the GBCA
Reaction score
so im new to the whole sledding sport.... racing moto is my primary. anyway, got an 08 rev xp. seen guys with no flap and some with. wondering if it is a huge issue that i already took a zip cut to the flap cause it looked gayer than aids? basically, am i going to fubar my machine by leaving the flap off?

It's like a water pump in a truck.... overrated, cooling is for puzzies.....

Just keep it in 2' + of powder at all times and you'll be fine...

Rhino Rick

Active VIP Member
Reaction score

Cut it off for sure!!! Flaps are gay!! You'll be the hero on the trails!! Ask anyone behind you lol. :beer::d:beer:

pistonbroke800

Active VIP Member
Reaction score

I leave mine on because my sled overheats on the trail even with scratchers. It can be a pain in the azz if your stuck. Mairch has one that is removeable. He uses it in the trail then ditches it with his gas can, best of both worlds for him.

rusty

GBCA Member
Reaction score
yeah its as important as air is to you. the cooling fins are at the back of the sled and if there is nothing to hold the snow back it will struggle with cooling.
Bogger has a way with the word

shoppingcart111

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The whole point of the flap is to direct snow back onto the coolers, I havent seen too many guys not running them. PM Maxwell on here, he seems to be the local sled guru and he wasnt running one for a while but just recently saw that he was looking for a new one so not sure.

Work2Ride

Active VIP Member