Do you ride with a Tether ?

Sledtillded

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
My nephew is riding in Sic. This weekend and our family was notified by the RCMP There this morning that his SPOT was activated and SAR was being sent out. A couple things to learn from this one. Looks like another group had a rider pinned under his sled with the throttle stuck wide open with his arm inside the skid and on the track. Not sure of all the details but looks like some lost fingers and heavily damaged arm. I just started riding last season FULL TIME with my tether attached. Even on the trail. Did it originally because of a ghost ride........ This is a way better reason to wear one if your not already doing so, and I hope this individual is ok.

One more thing that came out of this is 911 was activated on the SPOT and of course the RCMP were advised, who in turn calls your contacts that you set up. Since we had no idea who was in trouble u assume the worst. If yur ok, send that message after the 911 to avoid a lot of anxiety back home. For the record, I don't have a SPOT but will be getting one. Our group always has one I don't know exactly all the options available when sending a message but am sure some one can advise here.
Cheers !

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LBZ

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The one time I sent the 911 I sent an all is good message twice after. Wife had a momentary panic attack but was OK after the messages. Good advice. And wear your tether, and do up your helmet strap.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk

RXN

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Thanks for sharing.
I'm a firm believer of always wearing my tether. I installed them on my two sleds that didn't have. I've also influenced others I've ridden with to wear theirs.

I need to do some looking into on those SPOT beacons, sounds like they can be quiet the life saver.

ferniesnow

I'm doo-ing it!
Reaction score
Thanks for sharing.