RZR OR MAVERICK?

scramblerX

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Im looking at buying either a Rzr 1000 XP or a Maverick sport (xxc or xmr). This is all around trail riding in Alberta trails, mud, hill climbing everything. I have no experience with can ams. What machines do you guys recommend? Performance and reliability is what I want. I'm not a hard core mud guy but it does need to be capable. Thanks

arff

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have had both and now have a hi lifter Rzr.
We had the older Maverick and found it hot between the seats. And I had bad luck with QE2 difs.
That was only complaint.
My hi lifter is a 2020 with 4000 km and am very happy with it.

scramblerX

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Thanks arff, I'm leaning toward a 2024 rzr 1000 or maybe the previous generation 1000 xp. Most of the machines I see on the trail are the 1000xp

Anvil1010

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I had a Maverick as well. I was a BRP fan but what a piece of ch!t. Hot in the cab and overheated. Sold it and bought a Rzr Highlighter. It has been a great machine.

turbo392

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have 5500 km on my Mav Sport XXC and it’s been 1000x more stout than my older generation CanAm. The same belt, clutch, ball joints, brakes, SmartLok front diff from the 200 hp turbo model plus with 2.5” Fox shocks this thing is quite overbuilt. I beat it pretty badly every weekend year round in the southern AB mountains and I just replaced the brake pads and lower ball joints as it’s very first repair. I frequently ride with a pair of XMR Sport Mavericks, multiple KRXs, multiple RS1s and the odd XP1000. The older Mavericks and Commanders are money pits and most of the major breakdowns have been XP1000. The other machines I listed are all extremely well made and can all keep up with each other.

mclean

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I have a 2014 Polaris Rzr 1000. Have broken many parts over the years but they are a good machines, Would buy another one,