Our experience with Zac's Trac's and the AST One Course.

Trax 2 Treadz

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
trax2treadz.com
Last year Larry, Jaymie and I took the classroom portion of the AST One course in Fernie in January. There were a million excuses not to, ranging from it’s a whole day that we could be riding but instead we will be sitting in a classroom, Larry’s been riding for 25+ years and I have been riding for 10+ years what are we really going to learn?, it’s a lot of money to plop down for the 3 of us, we really don’t do any high marking or engage in any risky avalanche type riding behaviors so what’s the point for us?, a lot of it is just common sense what are we really going to learn? etc. etc. etc.

Holy cow was I ever wrong on all accounts!!!

While some of it is the oh so uncommon common sense a lot of it is stuff I never even thought of. You will learn about how to make good choices in terrain choices to minimize your risks. The types of avalanches and their sizes. What causes and avalanche triggers. The science of snow and how weather affects that, weak and strong snow. Persistent and non-persistent weak layers. How to read and interpret the avalanche bulletins. We looked a little bit at how beacons work as well and how important it is to upgrade your beacons to the 3 antennae transceivers. I didn’t know 95% of the stuff I learned at the course and I have been sledding for 10 plus years. Let me say this if you think you know it all, you don’t.