Oil pump for turbo causing voltage issues

Levithan

Reaction score
Hey guys, bought a used turbo kit for my 2017 mountain cat.
Installed it and all seems good but i have some kind of voltage issue being caused by the turbo oil pump.
With the pump installed and running off the regulated dc bus,(red/blu for those who know) which runs the dc system, my led tail light flickers at a fast pace and my gauge has somewhat of very light almost unnoticeable flicker in the orange lighting.
Very faint in my headlights as well.
I cannot find anywhere else to run the power for this pump in the wiring diagram.
Anyone know of a fix for this voltage issue?
(didn't post this in the turbo section as it is more of an accessory issue and doesn't really have to do with the turbo)

HotShotHarry

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I am going to make some comments but,I am not an expert on this subject , although I am in the process of trying to relace the turbo oil pump on my 14 PRO 800. Boondocker kit. The Boondocker oil punp is no longer available. From what I understand, and this may be your issue, some of the newer oil pumps, are regulated according to the engine rpm. This pulse type pump may be causing the flickering in your electrical system. I was told that a rectifier would resolve this problem. In my oil pump replacement quest, I purchased a Mr Gasket 12 D fuel pump. It is about 4 times larger than the Boondocker pump and draws 2 amps to run it. I am going to try and cut the amp draw down to 1amp using a 12 ohm resistor. This will lower the oil pump pressure ,although I dont know if it will cause the pump to overheat or cause the resister to fail resulting in the pump to quit. Hopefully someone will chime in and recommend a solution for both of us. What info do you have on your pump?

HotShotHarry

Active VIP Member
Reaction score