Lesson learned

nast70

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
I've been towing my 5ver for 6 years. The first thing I bought for it was a torque wrench. I was pretty anal about checking the wheel nuts before each trip, but taking off the stupid plastic caps and hearing the same clicks over and over, became more of a nuisance than the reassurance it was supposed to be.
Well the 'never will happen to me', happened.
My new (to me) 2009 f250 was doing great things with the trailer and the two quads in tow, until 15 minutes out of Boyle going towards Lac La Biche I heard a vibration. My son in the back heard it too, opening the back window thought it was the genny cover in the wind. It stopped almost immediately after. All is good let's keep going.
Behind us was my sister towing their boat, my wife with my boat and my brother in law with their cargo trailer.
I got a message to check my tires......a chill went up my spine as my brain put two and two together. Sure enough after pulling over as far as possible (this is a ridiculously narrow highway from Boyle to Lac La Biche) the rear driver wheel on the trailer was gone, completely, vanished. All I could think was the people behind me and hoping no one was hit by it. Thankfully no one was.
Practically everyone who passed made sure we were okay, one fellow actually drove between our parties helping communications until we regrouped. His name was Dennis and he took my quads to his farm while we set up to fix the wheel. To him, thank you for your help and concern.
Amazingly the tire caused no damage to the trailer when it left, it just rolled along the highway where my sister saw it going into the ditch. They collected it and met up with me. A plan was formulated for repair and put into action.
We chained up the axle and limped into town while my wife went ahead to buy the parts we needed.