How is everyone hooking up their sled deck lights?

Ramjet15x

Active VIP Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
248
Reaction score
276
Location
Leduc
The best way is to mount an additional 7 pin RV plug into the box of your truck behind the wheel well, this also allows you to hook your RV in summer. It is out of the way and not dangling outside or allowing corrosion of the factory bumper plug. It also allows for an additional hot wire for under deck lighting or loading ramp lights.
Marathons use the above pictured two pole connectors which are held in place by plastic hose wedged between the extrusions, these plugs corrode off regularly in salt conditions, dielectric grease all of these if you keep, I remove them all and wire in solid with solder, shrink sleeve and add plastic loom. My center marker light was also corroded off at the backside of base and needed to be replaced over summer.
The seven pin harness assembly can be bought at Canadian Tire in the RV or Trailer section and is plug a play also pictured earlier in thread
 

medler

I love guns
Joined
Aug 6, 2007
Messages
17,345
Reaction score
7,637
Location
Stettler Alberta
That's what all those wires are for, never really looked into what they do just see a big bundle under there. I just used a 4 pin flat for my trailer, hooked into the tail lights.

Ya it's for a camper. All the leads are there they just have heat shrink on the ends It's a great idea if your truck came with it
 

pfi572

Active VIP Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,953
Reaction score
14,675
Location
Grande Prairie
Some GMC and Chevys will have trailer wiring bundled up on the frame rail in between the box and cab on drivers side. I ran the wire through the stake pocket with a quick connect plug like the one shown on previous page.

Same.
Big trailer plug and a 4 wire right beside. Bought at Princess auto.
Works perfect and no splicing into anything .
 

Ballzdeep

Active VIP Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
6,923
Location
St Albert
5 yr old thread i know but have Question about wiring.

I have a Marlon deck and replaced the small round 2 wire marker lights no issues. I bought a new rear tail marker light from Fort Gary and noticed the light is 2 wires but the light on the deck has 3 wires. The plug that goes into my 4 pin on truck is 3 wires also. So why is the small marker lights only 2? And what wires should i use to hook up this new tail light? wire colors don't match... do i need a different one? Loading up tonight and riding this weekend...F150 5.5 box with deck, better stay clear of this dangerous ride:p
IMG_0557.PNG
 

Tchetek

Active VIP Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
2,256
Reaction score
5,476
Location
Alberta
5 yr old thread i know but have Question about wiring.

I have a Marlon deck and replaced the small round 2 wire marker lights no issues. I bought a new rear tail marker light from Fort Gary and noticed the light is 2 wires but the light on the deck has 3 wires. The plug that goes into my 4 pin on truck is 3 wires also. So why is the small marker lights only 2? And what wires should i use to hook up this new tail light? wire colors don't match... do i need a different one? Loading up tonight and riding this weekend...F150 5.5 box with deck, better stay clear of this dangerous ride:p
View attachment 222674

The 3 wire set up likely has a dual element bulb or led.

It will be on a little bit with the trucks running lights and then brighter when you hit the breaks.

Your 2 wire model would just be a marker light not marker and breaks.
 

DUS

Active member
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
123
Reaction score
247
Location
KCPGTN
5 yr old thread i know but have Question about wiring.

I have a Marlon deck and replaced the small round 2 wire marker lights no issues. I bought a new rear tail marker light from Fort Gary and noticed the light is 2 wires but the light on the deck has 3 wires. The plug that goes into my 4 pin on truck is 3 wires also. So why is the small marker lights only 2? And what wires should i use to hook up this new tail light? wire colors don't match... do i need a different one? Loading up tonight and riding this weekend...F150 5.5 box with deck, better stay clear of this dangerous ride:p
View attachment 222674

Can you post a few picks of your set up?
I want to see the set up on a 5.5ft box
 

Ballzdeep

Active VIP Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
6,923
Location
St Albert
The 3 wire set up likely has a dual element bulb or led.

It will be on a little bit with the trucks running lights and then brighter when you hit the breaks.

Your 2 wire model would just be a marker light not marker and breaks.

great, thanks man. That's what i needed to know:beer:
 

Ballzdeep

Active VIP Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
1,997
Reaction score
6,923
Location
St Albert
Can you post a few picks of your set up?
I want to see the set up on a 5.5ft box

i will take some pictures this weekend. Ford 5.5 box has the stupid fuel neck curved into the box so the front leg wouldn't sit flat. Had to adjust the front left leg as far forward as i could to get it to sit flat in the box. there is only 4" spot at the front where the leg can sit.
 

Caper11

Active VIP Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
8,323
Reaction score
15,348
Location
Edson,Alberta
I spliced in a pigtail on my 4pin trailer harness. Than ran a wire up through the box around a stake pocket. This is also on a 2012 3500.
 

Rene G

Active VIP Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
15,901
Reaction score
5,331
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
I wired an RV plug into my box, then wired up my deck and slip tank pump. I’ve also installed a winch on my deck that wired to the same circuit as the pump, but I can only use one at a time.
 

pizalm

Active member
Joined
Jun 9, 2009
Messages
48
Reaction score
55
Location
p-dot,mb
My f350 I used the 5th wheel plug in the box and my f150 I spliced into a tail light wire and put a 2 wire connector there for the running lights.
 

09 arctic cat m8

Active VIP Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,005
Reaction score
1,130
Location
canada
I run mine off a 4way plug into a 7way and right into my 5th wheel box plug works slick
 

Luke The Drifter

Active VIP Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
1,438
Reaction score
2,442
Location
Sherwood Park
Holy smokes I don't even remember posting this thread haha. For my 2019 F350 I used the 7 way plug in the box like others have done, works great and is easy to disconnect when its time to pull the deck off.
 

Bernoff

Active VIP Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
1,288
Reaction score
1,218
Location
Edmonton
I wired an RV plug into my box, then wired up my deck and slip tank pump. I’ve also installed a winch on my deck that wired to the same circuit as the pump, but I can only use one at a time.
I have wondered if the lighter wiring would be able to run a winch pulling a sled up a ramp?
 

Rene G

Active VIP Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
15,901
Reaction score
5,331
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
I have wondered if the lighter wiring would be able to run a winch pulling a sled up a ramp?

I use the 10g (I think) wire for the pump/winch. I also have a fuse wired between the the 7pin and the winch. If it ever becomes a problem I’ll wire it directly to the batteries
 

armascott

Armaguard
Joined
Dec 1, 2013
Messages
592
Reaction score
601
Location
St.Albert
Holy smokes I don't even remember posting this thread haha. For my 2019 F350 I used the 7 way plug in the box like others have done, works great and is easy to disconnect when its time to pull the deck off.

Is it the factory plug? I tried running my sled deck off the factory plug but it was annoying as hell because the truck was thinking there's was a trailer attached and it was showing signal / brake light faults all the time on the display. I just ended up running a second plug in the box just for my deck.
 

Rene G

Active VIP Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
15,901
Reaction score
5,331
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Is it the factory plug? I tried running my sled deck off the factory plug but it was annoying as hell because the truck was thinking there's was a trailer attached and it was showing signal / brake light faults all the time on the display. I just ended up running a second plug in the box just for my deck.

I wired a second one into my box too
 
Top Bottom