Command Start Module? Or what is this?

ippielb

Active VIP Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
2,550
Location
SE Saskatchewan
Website
www.youtube.com
Anyone know what these are? I don’t have command start fob. Bought truck without it, never tore the dash apart until today. What are the switch and button for?... has two 30amp inline fuses. Also found that little pass lock thing on the ground. No idea what it is for.

85a309e0f8fd041eb91a443381f6b8a0.jpg

d9a8353b9d620b7f2b7c3f1eaf433440.jpg

04f89b97b1b0580a56690da0e2f324f0.jpg

ae6b2e4b0fc8a0d28707ecf4f9ee2be7.jpg

41e65008b9fa9c33cbfde02fbbac5519.jpg
 

edge rmk700

Active VIP Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
272
Reaction score
142
Location
edmonton.ab
Sound be a command start the switch is for valet mode the button should béa reset
 

Summitric

SUPER COOL MOD & Supporting Vendor
Moderator
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
47,806
Reaction score
31,942
Location
Edmonton/Sherwood Park
Website
www.bumpertobumper.ca
Usually if a system is partially disconnected, something is wrong. I wouldn't waste time or money trying to get an old system working, especially if the fob is missing. Get a new system installed, as the technology has improved vastly in the last few years, and the price has improved vastly too. Phone operated systems are the way to go now, no doubt about it!!! You might spend more on finding proper fobs and programming and still have issues. Just my professional 2cents worth ;)
 

Zrock

Active VIP Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
542
Reaction score
812
Location
BC
Ill agree on getting a new system... I purchased a new fob for my system and for about $100 more i could have gotten a whole new system. The fob was frigging expensive
 

ippielb

Active VIP Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
2,550
Location
SE Saskatchewan
Website
www.youtube.com
I’ve never installed a command start before, what one would you guys recommend, diesel, auto trans, not looking for anything special. Truck isn’t worth an $800 remote start.
 

Zrock

Active VIP Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
542
Reaction score
812
Location
BC
The components for a decent system may be 3-400 tops. Pretty much all the systems are now plug and play so no cutting of wires involved.. Go to your local best buy or car audio shop and see what they have.. GF had one installed last year at the local shop car was not in the shop for more than a hour and the labor was more than the system was worth..
 

NoBrakes!

Active VIP Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2011
Messages
5,047
Reaction score
9,221
Location
Edmonton
some companies use the same connectors for the last 30 years and the new module and fobs will plug in and be good.
 

snoflake

Active VIP Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
791
Reaction score
2,795
Location
Red Deer
Funny how a guy doesnt have problem spending $250 on fuel for the boat, another $400 on cooler ingredients and what have you. BUUUTTT, when it come to the daily driver, he will shop around for weeks to find a decent price on a used tire while filling up one with a slow leak.
 

ippielb

Active VIP Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
2,550
Location
SE Saskatchewan
Website
www.youtube.com
Funny how a guy doesnt have problem spending $250 on fuel for the boat, another $400 on cooler ingredients and what have you. BUUUTTT, when it come to the daily driver, he will shop around for weeks to find a decent price on a used tire while filling up one with a slow leak.

34fb9a638e6d40f97e01ec2a642dbe33.jpg

Boat doesn’t work without gas, gotta fuel the gut for fishing too haha

Truck works without command start, don’t necessarily need it, if a guy could’ve made it work with that command start I’d be happy.

I’m going to take it off and bring it into a shop and see if they have a cheapie that will just plug right in.
 
Top Bottom