Appliance life span and our throwaway world

firstdoo

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Well, I had to fix another appliance in the house today. Washer bearings chit the bed a while ago and finally got around to replacing them. Second time I’ve repaired the washer. Last fix was the drain pump.

Got to talking to the wife, and she started reminding me how many times I’ve had to fix a major appliance in our house. Washer twice, dryer once, fridge 3 times, stove twice, dishwasher 3 times before I finally replaced the pos, and the hot water tank under warranty. Only thing that hasn’t been touched is the furnace.

Had our house built 13 years ago and all the appliances were new then. If I wasn’t handy (Millwright by trade) it would have cost thousands to get someone out to fix it, or I probably would have done what most people do. Toss it and buy a new one.

Life span on appliances these days don’t seem to be much more than 10 years. Back in the day they built things to last, but that doesn’t seem to spur the economy these days. Lol. I’m sure there’s some fridges and deep freezes out there older than the 39 years I’ve been around.

crazy_wheeler

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Yes appliances sure aren’t built like they used to be. Our LG dishwasher has crapped the bed again 2 yrs after the 1st repair. Drain pump again. I even hound the kids to make sure they scrape all left over food off before loading the dishwasher. The LG fridge is 10 yrs old & has been trouble free up to last year when the ice maker stopped dispensing ice. Not a big deal cause the in the door I’ve maker is lousy. The ice would freeze into one big chunk.

firstdoo

Active VIP Member
Reaction score