Possible Purchase Dilema

KCougar

Reaction score
Hey ladies! My apologies if this topic has been covered previously, I looked briefly but didnt see a similar post. Im looking for advice on purchasing a sled. The two Ive widdled down to would be the 2012 800 Summit with a 146" track or a 2013 M8 153" Sno Pro.

Heres the dilema. Im a beginner rider, never been to the mountains. My bf has a 2011 M8 and I will be following him out there this winter and hope to make this a seasonal hobby. Im primarilly interested in trails and bowls, the thought of highmarking terrifies me at this point in time. Im on the small side, but workout. My quad is a 750 Brute (pre-power steering) so Im not green to throwing something around or hanging off a machine to get it where it needs to go. Salesmen and different friends have given me different opinions on the smaller track length. So my question is, which sled will I struggle with less? What do you/your daughters ride, or rode, as a rookie?

b_doornenbal

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
My GF has had good luck with her M series (Arctic cat) and the new chassis is easier to handle, you may need a bit of time to make sure that it gets set up right for you, and if you are light, setting up the suspension will be very important so take the time to do this right away. This will be important on either sled.

My two cents are that even though people may say that a 16 wide 146 has the same track area as a 153 in deep snow I have found the 153 to float a bit better, and sit a bit more level in deep snow which makes it easier to ride. Another thing that I have found when ridding Skidoos is that my thumb gets tired much sooner than on a cat (just check how much easier to push the throttle on a cat than a doo, it will make a big difference over a day). The skidoo will be a bit smoother on the trail, but as a beginner I doubt you will be doing 60 mph on the way up.