newbie needs help with sled choice please!!!

dcf

Reaction score
I have very little sledding experience. I have ridden a couple older XLT's (not sure of track length) early 2000's RMK's with 144" tracks and bought and sold a 2009 phazer with the 121" track. I learned quick that the 121" track is not enough for me,lol.

I am 6' and 200lbs and live near the ab/sask border.

I will be rideing 50% flat land/trails/lakes and 50% in the river valleys(north saskatchewan river). With the possability of going to the mountains with friends (I have never gone).

I am liking what I see with the new ski-doo freeride. but have a newbie question about the track length/width. I am debating between the 137" track and the 146". will the 137"x16" track be similar to the polaris sleds i have ridden in the past with the 144"x15"? I was thinking that the track being 1" wider i may be close, or i could be totally wrong.

I know my friends that go to the mountains all have 144" tracks or bigger.

So basically i wanna know how the 137"x16" track compares to a 144"x15", both with the same lugs.

What would you all recommend?

snowho

Reaction score
The shortest I'd go is about 144" on any sled. If given a choice I probably would not go shorter than 153". I know guys that do ride the 146" and love the shorter track for free riding but I do feel the longer the better for traction and floatation. Not too sure about the 16" wide cause I have never had one in my opinion even though gaining 1" on width you are still losing 2' on the length.

• Recommends
Reactions: RXN

Slim

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
The shortest I'd go is about 144" on any sled. If given a choice I probably would not go shorter than 153". I know guys that do ride the 146" and love the shorter track for free riding but I do feel the longer the better for traction and floatation. Not too sure about the 16" wide cause I have never had one in my opinion even though gaining 1" on width you are still losing 2' on the length.