Are these snow conditions normal for the Calgary and surrounding area

RCMP DAD

Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to the Calgary and surrounding area. Just wondering if this weather and snow conditions are normal for this time of year. I come from the east coast and there is usually lots of snow for riding but am amazed by these chinooks and weather variations. I was under the impression one could ride from Dec to Apr in the foothills. Is our snowfall done with? I have recently returned to the sport and am hoping to get some more trail time in. Maybe just a bad year to get back into riding?

Kaz Dog

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
These weather ups-and-downs are normal for the Calgary area. I have been here for over 20 years now, and although this is a milder than not winter for the Calgary area, it comes after one of the best for snowmobiling in 10 years - last year. Get use to the Chinooks, they are here every winter, but hopefully not as frequent and warm as this particular year.

Keith Brown

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Its hit or miss here in southern Alberta. However Dec thru April is very optimistic on the best of years. Having said that our best snow conditions locally [west of Okotoks] this year were in November this year and from time to time we can have big snows in April. This year is unseasonably warm and windy not a good formula for snow. The vast majority of sledders in Calgary and area travel to south eastern BC where generally speaking sledding conditions are some what predictable and the season can easily be Dec thru April or Longer. For someone who has not traveled 4 to 6 hours one way it may seem excessive to travel that distance to sled for a day or two but be careful one epic day in Revy and you will be hooked. I am out of the country till the second week of march but am heading out sledding as soon as I am home If you would like to come along PM me I am just getting back after a long break too.