1996 ultra 680 oil at base of cylinders

2004MXZ800

Reaction score
I just bought this ultra 680 for a good price. I had it idling for a bit warming it up and I drove it forward a bit and noticed a lot of black in the snow where the exhaust was. It has SLP triple pipes. Also I was looking near the exhaust head at the base of the cylinders it appears to be pretty oily there. What should I do? I am new to two strokes

medler

I love guns
Reaction score
Allways will be lots of smoke when cold.

Probably needs a gasket between the block and the heads

2004MXZ800

Reaction score
That's what I kind of figured I guess the earlier models had that issue with the cylinder base gasket

2004MXZ800

Reaction score
Can I replace the base gaskets with the engine still in the sled or is it best to pull it? The repair manual only shows if it is pulled from the sled

duck

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
If it has slp tripple pipes, there will be separate flanges on the cylinders. Its probably just leaking out the exhaust or at the flanges on the cylinders. When I ran ultra's back in the 90's, I saw oil all the time. Its just probably a matter of removing the pipes and re-sealing the connections between the pipes and header flanges as they will have a groove with a piston ring on there and they leaked. I used to wrap with high heat tape or use a silicone high temp sealant at the joints. Also on the header flanges on the block. oil at the exhaust on the snow is normal.... pipes on ultras also required a different set of nozzles and needles in the carbs that were included with the pipes to make them run a bit leaner on the bottom end and mid range and then bigger jets for the top end to run properly. made alot more power with the pipes (145ish) vs 105 hp stock.....

duck

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
That's what I kind of figured I guess the earlier models had that issue with the cylinder base gasket