LoginRegister
SnowandMud.com - Powered by vBulletin

Today's Posts
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Member
    Crazy8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Beaumont
    Posts
    465

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    These are great learner bikes and have the look of a crotch rocket but a 500cc air cooled twin. Only weighs about 300lbs and actually goes pretty good.
    And, it's for sale.
    IMG_0352.jpg
    2012 ProClimb M800 LTD 153

    07' Brute Force 650i



  2. #12
    Member fj40's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    St albert Alberta
    Posts
    315

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    A CBR 600 has a lot of power for a new rider and not the greatest riding position to get use to the traffic
    I would go with a 650 or even a 300 still enough power to get you out of trouble with a more upright riding position
    Most new rider get a different bike after 2 year any ways so he will probably move up to something different
    Sport bikes don't hold their value very good. Most used 600 have been bagged also check the insurance cost on them compared to the other bikes
    My insurance company I have my house and other cars would not even cover my zx14

  3. #13
    Member 2010m8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    leduc
    Posts
    241

    Re: 1st bike opinions


    I started on an Yamaha fz07. Never rode a bike beside the odd dirk bike. Won't have to worry about going to fast as it doesn't to well on top end speed. It's meant for around town and hiway cruising. But if need be will keep up to and crotch rocket until you get above 160. And the they are pretty cheap brand new. Can pick up at brand new one for less then 7k. And insurance is cheaper then super sports.

  4. #14
    Member C of Red's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    374

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    The folks here who stated it depends on the person are right. All bikes can get you in trouble real quick if you're not responsible. Problem with young folks (myself included back in the day), you are responsible around you're parents but when that young lady you want to impress is there... are you still?

    That being said, my first bike was a R1. Sure glad I bought that bike rather than a small one. If I would have bought a R3 I never would have rode it a full season, a R6 I would have made one year. That R1 was awesome, you just need to use your head and respect it a little more than the smaller bikes. If I was doing it again I'd buy the litre bike again but get a beginner track day (area27 in Oliver, or Edmonton) and get used to the bike without having to worry about traffic or gravel.

    Its sort of the same argument as buying a young person a new sled. Do you get the 600 or the 800. I believe most folks end up 800. Both can get you in deep sh!t.
    Last edited by C of Red; May 24th, 2017 at 11:13 PM.
    Proud member of Team WTF

    2018 Ski-Doo Freeride 165
    2017 Ducati 1299 Panigale S


  5. #15
    Member nathan#19's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Wainwright
    Posts
    113

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    My first bike was a cbr 600. Great starter bike. I shifted at 4 or 5000 rpm the first year and thought it was so easy to ride and almost felt under powered... then I tried going up to 10 or 12,000 rpm.... it scared me and I think I almost slid off the back. Haha. I was told insurance jumps on anything over 600cc.
    Find a nice used one and save the depreciation.

  6. #16
    Member Big Jon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    166

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    Do a course. Get info on CTEC and go from there.

  7. #17
    Member
    posnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Spruce Grove, Ab
    Posts
    2,086

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    Thx for all tips everyone. Looks like we have narrowed it down to a few bikes. He has already taken the course

  8. #18
    Super Mod Geek
    TylerG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Spruce Grove, Alberta
    Posts
    23,045

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by posnick View Post
    Thx for all tips everyone. Looks like we have narrowed it down to a few bikes. He has already taken the course
    the real question is, will his dad be getting a bike to follow him around on?
    Member of Team SLIM



  9. #19
    Member
    Rene G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB
    Posts
    386

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by posnick View Post
    Thx for all tips everyone. Looks like we have narrowed it down to a few bikes. He has already taken the course
    What are the finalists?
    2015 Pro RMK / 2016 2500 Duramax / 3 sons / 1 wife / 1 dog

  10. #20
    Member
    posnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Spruce Grove, Ab
    Posts
    2,086

    Re: 1st bike opinions

    Thought about it but I have better places to spend 10K than on a street bike

    Quote Originally Posted by TylerG View Post
    the real question is, will his dad be getting a bike to follow him around on?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •