LoginRegister
SnowandMud.com - Powered by vBulletin

Today's Posts
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Member BillyYork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Salmon Arm
    Posts
    56

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    Motorfist. I wont buy anything else anymore. Make sure to use their layering system too, wicks the moisture away. Never wet, never cold. You could stand out in the rain and not get wet lol.



  2. #12
    Member moto5151's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    grande prairie
    Posts
    508

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    I use the Togwotee bib pants and jacket, but you can't go wrong with any. Just try them on first.

  3. #13
    Member mxracer328's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    PG
    Posts
    91

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    Thanks for all the replies. I think on my next days off I'll be trying some motor fist and klim stuff on. There's a good selection of that gear in town

  4. #14
    Newbie 2009rhino's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Drayton Valley
    Posts
    4

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    I have used FXR, KLIM and TOBE. hands down the TOBE wear is far superior to anything else. Water proof and 100% dry!! Light and very warm. IMO, best gear out there.

  5. #15
    Member Marmot MB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Edmonchuck
    Posts
    72

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    For boots I have the Klim Adrenaline, very comfortable, have not had a cold foot yet, and have not had one drop of moisture inside the boot. for the $$ it is a great choice.

    for jacket I have been using a Joe Rocket 3/4 length textile motorcycle coat. has built in padding, 100% waterproof, removable zip in liner, lots of waterproof venting zippers for when you get hot. Fabric is tough as nails and can take all the abuse you throw at it.... best part is it is way way way less than the overpriced under-featured options from ANY of the snowmobile companies (can you say highway robbery !) take a look at some of the motorcycle jacket offerings.

    For pants I have been using the Oxford Ranger 2.0 pants, again these are motorcycle pants, pads in the knees( Can be removed) which are great for those times you smash your knees into your sled, great for when you have you knee on the seat for long periods, great for kneeling in snow and not getting cold, and great for keeping the wind off your knee's when cruising. These also have a removable zip in thermal liner. I have ridden in hours of cold pouring rain, snowmobiled multiple days in deep snow and never a drop of water has gotten in. Compare these at $269 (one stop biker shop Edmonton) to any of the way way overpriced options from the snowmobile manufacturers. Again search the net for other motorcycle pants and you will find a dozen or more choices in the $250 range with way more features and better fabrics than the snowmobile garments.

    Oxford Ranger 2.0 Textile Motorcycle Trousers - Christmas Gifts For Bikers - Ghostbikes.com

    From my experiance with their pants, this should be a great jacket
    Oxford Montreal 2.0 Jacket - RevZilla

    I am a gear whore, I love gear and I research it extensively. I have experience with ski, motorcycle and recently sled gear. All I can say is look outside the snowmobile market, it is way under featured and way overpriced for what you get. compare any sled jacket to a ski or motorcycle coat and it becomes very apparent the sledders are getting gouged.

    Gloves Oh My god don't get me started..... Holy crap what a scam going on there from Klim and Motofist ! Mountain Equipment Co-Op Brands are inexpensive and every bit as good as any other gloves.

    Men's : Clothing : Accessories : Gloves and Mitts : MEC - Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC). Free Shipping Available.

    That's my rant for today.

  6. #16
    Member
    gates559's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    G.P Alberta
    Posts
    750

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    Quote Originally Posted by moto5151 View Post
    Imo, Klim make the best jacket and pants money can buy. It's like riding in a space suit it's that good. But don't buy the gloves or boots. Best gloves, I would say a leather palmed glove by motorfist. Klim boots fall apart as well. I'm trying a motorfist boot this year. Oh ya, Klim make some amazing goggles too. I can't understand why everyone raves about the 509. I've tried them, hated them and found the Klim ones to be so much better.
    I have had Klim artic gtx boots for three years, still like new. They are awesome. incredibly warm. I couldn't be happier. I agree Klim gloves suck.

  7. #17
    Member Highfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Airdrie
    Posts
    1,635

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    My daughter was working at Adrenaline and she got ridiculously good deals (Too good of an opportunity and could not pass it up) so we outfitted ourselves with all new FXR Gear. We were and still will be using MotorFist. Its top notch also.
    The FXR boots with the BOA system ROCKS! No more laces to deal with and super comfortable.
    I have bad circulation in my hands and found the FXR gloves to be a bit warmer than the Motorfist Valkyries.
    One thing I didn't like about Motorfist was no high vis colors. looks like they have a few more colors now but nothing in comparison.
    My daughter went the onesie route. If you have no gear at all it is a cheaper route to go rather than buying pants and a jacket.
    FXR has entry level end high end stuff so be aware of that.


    20160102_113418.jpg
    Brent.

    Speed is your friend, Horse power is your buddy.

  8. #18
    Member Merc63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    1,358

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    Had an FXR jacket, its no where the quality of the Motorfist or Klim.

    Now wearing a motorfirst jacket with klim layers underneath. Klim bibs, motorfist gloves, motorfist stomper 2 boots, klim helmet.

    Don't just stick to one brand for everything. Each brand has its good and bad products.



  9. #19
    Member NoBrakes!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Edmonton
    Posts
    998

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    two friends bought TOBE 2.0 suits and both love them. I have had Klim from head to toe for 4 years, never cold, never wet. Valdez jacket, non insulated bibs, adrenaline boots, F4 helmet, the Klim balaclava is pretty beat after 4 seasons. Gloves... another story... still looking for the right ones, heard good things about the new DOO ones but they're 200$...

  10. #20
    Member Pilsner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Shuswap
    Posts
    21

    Re: New riding gear. Opinions needed

    Quote Originally Posted by NoBrakes! View Post
    two friends bought TOBE 2.0 suits and both love them. I have had Klim from head to toe for 4 years, never cold, never wet. Valdez jacket, non insulated bibs, adrenaline boots, F4 helmet, the Klim balaclava is pretty beat after 4 seasons. Gloves... another story... still looking for the right ones, heard good things about the new DOO ones but they're 200$...
    Gloves, try Hestra's best gloves I've had to date.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •