Salmo Creston Pass Caribou

MOMMA

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
This is what the Caribou look like up the Salmo Creston Pass. In 11 years of living here, this is my first time seeing the elusive Caribou. There were 2 on the Highway.
038.jpg

this one was blowing a raspberry at us
043.jpg

PonyboyCurtis

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
WOW! I was begining to think they were just making it up. Thats the first time i have seen them and i have done alot of work up porcupine creek.

snopro

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Saw one this summer at the summit on my way back from Christina Lake. There were a bunch of vehicles parked on the side of the road watching it so I stopped to.

bogey

Reaction score
Seen 2 caribou in June 2 years ago walking right down the middle of the highway just east of the summit webcam with cars having to weave around them. My though was that natural selection may be what's killing these animals of as they were totally unconcerned about the traffic small and large including very large b train semi,s.

MOMMA

Active VIP Member
Reaction score
Hope there wasn't any good sledding in the Salmo Creston Pass...cats outta the bag now. Lol
This area is a designated Caribou zone. I have never seen them until now. Kind of gave me a weird feeling to have all these closures in the name of the mystical Creature called a Caribou. It feels better now knowing they actually do exist, and look healthy. Everyone around here is really responsible and abide by the Caribou closure laws. No one wants to lose any Land due to misuse or abuse. The caribou closure areas are very well marked.